Rowe Team

Program Team

Ron

Ron Manderschied
President of Northwestern Settlement

Ron Manderschied became President of Northwestern Settlement in 1981. During his tenure as president, the Settlement’s annual budget has grown from $200,000 to $14 million. He has overseen the founding of many of the Settlement’s largest programs including Rowe Elementary charter school, the internationally-recognized Adventure Stage Chicago theatre, AmeriCorps Project YES!, and a nationally-accredited preschool. He also grew the Settlement’s food pantry and after-school programs, and instituted year-round STEM programming at its House In The Wood summer camp in Delevan, Wisconsin. Northwestern Settlement serves over 12,000 individuals each year through education, social services, and arts programs, and another 25,000 through community use of the Settlement’s facilities and 299-seat Vittum Theater.

In 1999 the Settlement co-founded Noble Street Charter School with Mr. Manderschied assuming the role of President and CEO. As Noble Street replicated, he became the President of the Noble Network of Charter Schools in 2005, where he was responsible for administration, fundraising, governance, and financial oversight for this $55 million organization. In 2009, Mr. Manderschied stepped down from leadership of the Noble Network to found Rowe Elementary School. Rowe Elementary will serve over 900 youth in grades K-8 in 2016-17 and has a Level 1+ quality rating from CPS.

Mr. Manderschied currently serves as a board member and Treasurer of the Alliance for Strong Families and Communities, a national membership organization of over 500 child welfare and community based organizations. He is the past Board Chair of the United Neighborhood Centers of America (former National Federation of Settlements) which had 160 member agencies across the country. He is a board member of the Neighborhood Capital Institute, a Chicago based not-for-profit that creates comprehensive development plans which are community-driven and economically viable by merging the expertise of stakeholders, development experts and planning professionals. Community development frameworks are created that encourage private investment in sites ranging from a few city blocks to thousands of acres, from Chicago to Gary to Moline.

In addition, Mr. Manderschied serves on the Higher Learning Commission’s Institutional Actions Counsel. The Higher Learning Commission accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions in the North Central region. He also devotes time to the American Camp Association to do field accreditations of children’s summer residential camps across Illinois and Wisconsin with a concentration on religious and special needs camps.

He and his wife are residents of Chicago.

Tony-Sutton-225x300Mr. Tony Sutton
Principal
tsutton@nush.org

Born in Chicago, IL, Tony Sutton has worked in the education field since his graduation from Hampton University in 2005. After completing his commitment to Teach for America in Charlotte, NC, he spent time recruiting talent for Teach for America in the mid-Atlantic region. After marrying the most amazing woman in the land, Tony moved to Washington, D.C. where he continued his impact in the education sector as a Dean of School Culture at Potomac Lighthouse Public Charter School. Utilizing his experience in school culture, Tony transitioned to DC Prep as a Dean of Student Support and Founding Assistant Principal. Tony is thrilled to be back in Chicago with his wife and two daughters to continue to impact scholars and families as a grateful, second-year Rowe Elementary School team member.

Ashley Cooper
Ms. Ashley Cooper
Dean of Academics (6-8)
acooper@nush.org

Ms. Cooper was born in Des Moines, Iowa but calls Charlotte, North Carolina home. She graduated from Winston Salem State University with a Bachelor’s degree in education, and later received a Master’s degree in Curriculum and Instruction from NC State University. Throughout her teaching career, Ms. Cooper has taught kindergarten, as well as grades 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, and 8! Ms. Cooper is very excited to take on her new role as Dean of Academics and to continue to be a part of Rowe’s success!

Rodrigo_Michael.jpgMr. Michael Rodrigo
Dean of SEL & Culture (6-8)
mrodrigo@nush.org

Mr. Rodrigo grew up in Algonquin, Illinois. He attended Illinois State University where he graduated with a degree in Criminal Justice Sciences. In 2010, he moved to Chicago through Teach For America to teach second grade at Rowe. While at Rowe, Mr. Rodrigo has taught numerous grade levels and worked in various program team roles. His passion has always been Culture and SEL and working with middle school scholars. He is excited to watch Rowe's first ever class graduate this year.


Emily LubkertMs. Emily Lubkert
Dean of Academics (3-5)
elubkert@nush.org

Ms. Lubkert grew up in Charlotte, NC. She attended college at Duke University and has taught in New York City and Chicago. She also worked with student-teachers at Duke and received her master’s degree from the Harvard Graduate School of Education. Ms. Lubkert has been at Rowe since 2012, teaching kindergarten in Oklahoma. She is very excited to support teachers in 3rd-5th grades!

Krebs_Mary Lindsay.jpgMs. Mary Lindsay Krebs
Dean of SEL & Culture (3-5)
mlkrebs@nush.org

Ms. Krebs grew up in Nashville, Tennessee. She graduated from Washington University in St. Louis, Missouri, where she studied philosophy-neuroscience-psychology and painting. After graduating, Ms. Krebs joined Teach for America - Chicago to teach fourth grade in the southwest side. In 2013, Ms. Krebs came to Rowe where she has taught both fourth and fifth grade. Last year, Ms. Krebs decided to become a Dean of SEL and Culture for grades three through five. She loves building strong classroom culture and is excited to work with such amazing teachers, families, and scholars here at Rowe!

image005Ms. Bohannon
Dean of Academics (K-2)
tbohannon@nush.org

Ms. Bohannon grew up in Neenah, Wisconsin and moved to Evanston for college at Northwestern University. At Northwestern, Ms. Bohannon studied child development and psychological services and decided to join Teach for America in New York after graduation. During her time in New York, Ms. Bohannon taught second and third grade in the South Bronx. Wanting to move closer to home and her family, Ms. Bohannon decided to move back to Chicago and become a founding kindergarten teacher at Rowe in 2009. After her fourth year teaching kindergarten, Ms. Bohannon decided to take on a new role as the Dean of Academics K-2. Ms. Bohannon misses the classroom dearly, but enjoys working closely with teachers and supporting more classrooms in her fourth year as a Dean.


Josh Rodgers

Mr. Josh Rodgers
Dean of SEL & Culture (K-2)
jrodgers@nush.org

Mr. Rodgers was born in Pennsylvania but was raised in North Carolina. He completed his undergraduate degree in Minnesota with a major in Social Sciences. After graduation, Mr. Rodgers taught 1st grade as a 2012 TFA corps member in the Mississippi Delta region. During his time in the classroom, social emotional learning became a passion that would shape his future. Mr. Rodgers, then, earned his master’s degree in Educational Psychology at The University of Texas at Austin. Mr. Rodgers is extremely excited to be a part of the Rowe team and to help scholars achieve their fullest potential.

Chiappetta_Jen.jpgMs. Jen Chiappetta
Director of Special Education (K-8)
jchiappetta@nush.org

Ms. Chiappetta grew up in Arlington Heights, IL. She is a very proud Hawkeye alum, graduating from the University of Iowa with a degree in elementary and special education. After graduating, Ms. Chiappetta taught special education in grades pre-K – 8 in variety of different settings. In 2013 she graduated from Concordia University with a masters in educational leadership and spent a year as an Assistant Principal before deciding to come back to her true love of special education. In 2014 Ms. Chiappetta found a home here at Rowe as a special education teacher and now as the Director of Special Education. Ms. Chiappetta is passionate about inclusion and advocating for the rights of all scholars!



McHenry_Allison.jpgMs. Allison McHenry
English Language Coordinator (K-8)
amchenry@nush.org

Ms. McHenry was born in Massachusetts but was raised in North Carolina.  She graduated from East Carolina University, where she studied communications and dance.  She later earned a Master’s degree in Teaching English as a Second Language from NC State University.  Shortly after starting her teaching career, Ms. McHenry taught 7th and 11th grade ESL in Beijing, China.  Upon returning to the United States, Ms. McHenry started teaching ESL at the elementary school level and found it to be very rewarding.  In 2014, Ms. McHenry moved to Chicago and founded the ESL department at Rowe.  She is excited to continue to support Rowe’s bilingual students and families.

Hoffman_Alexandra.jpgMs. Alexandra Friedeman
Director of Operations
afriedeman@nush.org

Ms. Friedeman was born and raised outside of Chicago, attending Northwestern University after high school. She moved to Washington DC as a part of the Teach for America program, where she taught grades Pre-K through 2nd in a special education inclusion classroom. After earning her Masters degree at George Mason, she returned to Chicago and joined the Rowe team in 2013 as the 2nd grade lead teacher in UCLA. This year is her second year in an operations role and she is excited to continue working with such wonderful scholars and families!

LoShonne SeguraMs. LeShonne Segura
Director of Family & Community Engagement
lsegura@nush.org

Ms. Segura  grew up in Chicago, IL and attended Amherst College (Massachusetts) and Relay Graduate School of Education (Chicago, IL). She started her career in education at a middle school in North Lawndale. There, she co-taught 6th-8th grade ELA and ran an after school reading group. After two years, she became the founding Director of College Counseling at Chicago Bulls College Prep, and taught College Seminar where she helped seniors write college essays, apply to four year institutions, apply for financial aid, and enroll in college. This is Ms. Segura's first year at Rowe.

Lisa VandervoortMs. Lisa VanderVoort
High School Readiness Counselor

lvandervoort@nush.org

Ms. VanderVoort grew up in Clifton Park, NY.  She moved to Canton, NY to attend St. Lawrence University where she studied psychology, math, and education. After graduating she moved to Chicago to join Teach For America and taught high school math. After teaching high school math, Ms. VanderVoort realized her passion was working with younger scholars. In 2014 she came to Rowe where she has taught 6-8th grade math and science. Ms. VanderVoort is super excited to continue working with Rowe scholars and families as the High School Readiness Counselor this year!

John Lopez

Mr. John Lopez
School Operations Manager
jlopez@nush.org

Mr. Lopez was born and raised on the south side of Chicago. After graduating from Morgan Park High School, he attended the University of Illinois-Urbana Champaign. He graduated in 2005 with a degree in political science. After graduation, he started his own successful trivia company throughout the city of Chicago. His first experience at Rowe was when he began helping in the Michigan classroom in 2012. He truly enjoyed spending each day at Rowe and is so excited to officially be a part of it!

image007Mrs. Diana Morquecho
Middle School Office Clerk
dmorquecho@nush.org

Mrs. Morquecho grew up on the northwest side of Chicago. She went to high school in Atlanta before moving back to Chicago. Mrs. Morquecho’s daughters have attended Rowe since kindergarten! In 2013, she joined the Rowe Operations Team as the Recruitment and Enrollment Manager and has transitioned into the role of Office Clerk at our new middle school building.

image009Mrs. Roselia Velasco
Elementary School Office Clerk
rvelasco@nush.org

Mrs. Velasco grew up in the north side of Chicago. She joined Rowe Elementary as a proud parent in 2010. She joined the Operations Team in 2012. Her favorite thing to do is spending time with her children! She loves to volunteer and encourages others to share their time for a good cause.

K-2 Teachers

Kindergarten

(click logo for class page)

Chicago

Ms. Croghan- ccroghan@nush.org

Ms. Kinsella - ckinsella@nush.org

Harvard

Ms. Ellis- aellis@nush.org

Ms. Watrach - bwatrach@nush.org

Michigan

Ms. Hellige- chellige@nush.org

Ms. Neill- aneill@nush.org

oklahoma_1

Mr. Williams - bwilliams@nush.org

Ms. Stillwell - sstillwell@nush.org

1st Grade

(click logo for class page)

Depaul

Ms. Wambach- kwambach@nush.org

Ms. Rooth - jrooth@nush.org

loyola

Ms. Heiman- theiman@nush.org

Mr. Williams - ewilliams@nush.org

morehouse-otm

Ms. Key- ekey@nush.org

Ms. Marinelli - kmarinelli@nush.org

Wisconsin

Ms. Lavoie- blavoie@nush.org

Ms. Horn - rhorn@nush.org

intervention3

Ms. Alt- jalt@nush.org

2nd Grade

(click logo for class page)

Denver

Ms. Rodgers- arodgers@nush.org

U-of-I-Urbana-Champaign

Ms. Wilson- awilson@nush.org

Stanford

Ms. Max- kmax@nush.org

UCLA

Ms. May- amay@nush.org

intervention3

Ms. Max- amax@nush.org

3-5 Teachers

3rd Grade

(click logo for class page)

Duke

Ms. Heidtke - mheidtke@nush.org

Northwestern

Ms. Behrmann- jbehrmann@nush.org

UConn

Ms. Voigts- avoigts@nush.org

usc

Ms. Segretto- csegretto@nush.org

intervention3

Ms. Marang- omarang@nush.org

4th Grade

Georgetown

Ms. McCracken- cmccracken@nush.org

Ms. Rich- erich@nush.org

Penn_Athletics_logo.svg

Ms. Hutchinson- jhutchinson@nush.org

purdue_university_logo

Ms. Ahern- lahern@nush.org

UIC

Ms. Magad-Weiss- mmweiss@nush.org

5th Grade

ISU

Ms. Sorokina- ysorokina@nush.org

Ms. Conroy - sconroy@nush.org

Minn

Ms. Clark- eclark@nush.org

WashU

Mr. Perlman - gperlman@nush.org

 

williams-college-logo-400x400

Ms. Baran - bbaran@nush.org

2-5 Science Teachers

Science

Ms. Eckburg - ceckburg@nush.org (UCLA, USC, Purdue, Wash U)
Ms. Walker - mwalker@nush.org (Stanford, Northwestern, UIC, Minnesota)
Ms. Kulpa - lkulpa@nush.org (Denver, UCONN, Penn, ISU)
Ms. Immer - eimmer@nush.org (Illinois, Duke, Georgetown, Williams)

6-8 Teachers

6th Grade

(click logo for class page)

Dartmouth

Mr. DeHaan (ELA) - ddehaan@nush.org

Denison_University

Mr. Delarmente (Writing & SS) - rdelarmente@nush.org

Whittier

Mr. Humilier (Math)- nhumilier@nush.org

Marquette_University

Ms. Leonard (Science) - aleonard@nush.org

7th Grade

(click logo for class page)

Hampton

Ms. Orth (Math) - borth@nush.org

Stmary

Ms. O'Brien (Science) - cobrien@nush.org

Barnard

Ms. Neiman (Writing & SS) - sneiman@nush.org

iowa-logo

Mr. Methling (ELA) - wmethling@nush.org

8th Grade

(click logo for class page)

Tuskegee

Ms. Mohs (ELA/SS/Writing) - emohs@nush.org

Ms. Fallon (Math/Science) - cfallon@nush.org

Enrichment Teachers

Elementary Enrichments

(click on logo for class page)

PE

Ms. Stawicki- kstawicki@nush.org

art

music

Mr. Molitor- imolitor@nush.org

drama

Mr. Hofacker- bhofacker@nush.org

Middle School Enrichments

(click logo for class page)

drama

NCAT

Ms. Malik- dmalik@nush.org

Student Support Teachers

TAM-Logo

English Language Teachers (K-5)
Ms. Ross - lross@nush.org
Ms. Sharp - jsharp@nush.org

Special Education Teachers & Aids

Spelman

Mr. Young - dyoung@nush.org 
Ms. Rich - erich@nush.org
Mr. Pena - epena@nush.org
Ms. Canniff - ccanniff@nush.org

Hampton

Ms. Lake - jlake@nush.org
Ms. Watkins - swatkins@nush.org
Mr. Krolikiewicz - ekrolikiewicz@nush.org
Ms. Russi - arussi@nush.org
Ms. Siegel - hsiegel@nush.org

Social Workers

Social Work

Ms. Borowski (K-5) - mborowski@nush.org
Mr. Heidel (K-5 Communities in Schools) - bheidel@nush.org
Ms. Feldman (6-8) - jfeldman@nush.org
Ms. Hurtado (6-8) - jhurtado@nush.org

Board

Officers

Ron R. Manderschied, President

Anthony Perry, Chairman

Robert J. Best, Vice-Chairman

Kurt Mueller, Treasurer

Carol Golder, Assistant Treasurer

William Welnhofer, Assistant Treasurer

Connie Magnuson, Secretary

Anna Atkinson, Assistant Secretary

Amy O’Donnell, Assistant Secretary

Directors

Margaret J. Barr

Alderman Walter Burnett, Jr.

Ginny Burnstine

Julie W. Coffman

Glenn A. Dalhart

Paula B. Danoff

Kathy Elliott

Rodolfo Gaytan

Dania Leemputte

Michael Martinez

Marc E. Peters

John Relias

John W. Rowe

Holly Sunshine

Dennis Van Mieghem

Nancy G. Whiteman

Auxiliary Board Presidents

Zoe Barron - Evanston Woman’s Board

John Conneely - Adventure Stage Chicago Board

Alexandra Considine - Chicago Board

Margaret Herrmann - Winnetka Board

Francis Horvath - Park Ridge Board

Kimberly Romic - North Shore Board